Cool Songs : September

Smart move by Floyd with the 6-14 demographic largely up for grabs in boxing.

For about the 5th time, I’ll start a post with an apology.

After an August that saw a bit of a renaissance around these parts, we damn near laid egg this in September.  If it not for an incredible Natty Morrison piece that had been sitting in the drafts for about a month, we assuredly would have given you no original content for 30 days.

I hereby pledge October will be different.

If you pay attention to this blog at all, you’d know that I always make time for a monthly playlist.  This is due in large part to the fact I make these into CDs for when I’m sitting in L.A. traffic.  I realize this is a very 2004 move.

So without further ado, 44 minutes of choice cuts.

tracklist
Kwes – 36
Celestial Shore – Valerie
Drake – Hold On, We’re Going Home
Twin Shadow – Old Love/New Love
Polica – Smug
Movement – Us
A$AP Rocky – R. Cali
The Range – Metal Swing
BANKS – Bedroom Wall
Nowhere – Dead Live
SOHN – Lessons
Four Tet – Parallel Jalebi
Say Lou Lou – Feels Like We Only Go Backwards

Also s/o to my favorite Lafayette, Indiana independent record label, Jurassic Pop, who sent me some shit I didn’t order a couple weeks ago.  Since they refuse to comply with my desires and put shit on Soundcloud so I can listen to in my car without paying them, I will embed this fantastic track from Nowhere’s self titled album here.

EDIT: The gentlemen of Nowhere reached out on Twitter with a soundcloud link! As luck would have it, it nestled perfectly into the back half.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

